It’s been a while

It’s been a while. I know. Life got in the way in a big way. And it sucked out all my drive to sew. To create.

In a nutshell, in June my husband found out they were closing the facility where he works as a research engineer. This meant massive lay-offs. Luckily we were one of the few to whom they offered a tasty relocation package. We accepted.

Come September our house has been sold and we are two weeks into escrow. This coming Sunday we will be flying to Mentor, Ohio to look for a new house to buy. Yes, you read that correctly. We are moving from Southern California to Ohio. Big step. But we are feeling positive about once again being able to enjoy seasons and having less money-stress.

Did I mention that in the midst of all this we had to go on our family trip to Belgium. Tickets having been bought and all. While there we got into a bit of a tussle with the relocation company over the selling price of the house. This meant we did not even get to really enjoy seeing family and friends for the first time in about three years.

United Airlines also lost our main suitcase on our flight to Brussels. They never even scanned it. So it is completely lost. Verschwunden. And of course I had stuffed it full of all of Jason’s handmade clothes.

This is what got me back onto the sewing track. I really miss seeing Jason in mommy-made stuff. It makes me sad. Inspired by a crafty group I am part of, I decided to make a long-sleeve tee with a Nutella-jar on it. Cause my boy loves him some Nutella. Being Belgian ‘n all.

 

Sorry about the crappy pic. Jason did not feel like posing. And I was too lazy to get out the nice camera. The heat has us feeling a bit crabby late. (Mentor where are you when we need you?!) It’s obviously Rae’s Flashback Skinny Tee. I used Leslie Rylie’s TAP as recommended on Cirque du Bebe’s blogpost. Sadly our printer is already burried in a pile for the moving company to come box it up and pick it up. Which made me decide to try out drawing it myself. And it worked! I have to admit I didn’t expect it. Not really.

I do think I will reserve the TAP for print-outs in the future. It just gives it a cleaner, less handmade look. Not that I mind this look. It has it charms. But most of all I am happy to be sewing again. Really happy.

Leave a Reply

